Dorm Life

Before college I always had my own room at home. I never had any experience with having to share personal space with someone else. Going into college, I was extremely nervous for this. Luckily, I already knew my roommate ahead of time so it wasn’t going to be as bad..or so I thought. Move in day was crazy as ever, my family was with me helping me unload all of my stuff and put everything away. My roommate moved in the day before me, so she was not around at all the day I moved in.

Long story short, my roommate no longer lives with me and I lost a friend of 10 years, which is a bummer. So anyways, dorm life is so different than living at home. There are some great things about it, but there are also some really horrible things about it. After my short list of pros and cons, I included a link to a website that states the best and worst things about dorm life!

Some of the Pros

  • independence
  • freedom
  • meet tons of new people
  • always activities and fun things going on

Some of the Cons

  • small rooms
  • dirty/community bathrooms
  • neighbors being loud
  • food is not the best

http://mashable.com/2013/08/23/best-worst-dorm-life/#ImDl8W5kImqx

Being able to have the “college experience” is awesome. Everyone should give it a shot. Some people love it, some people hate it but at least you get to try it out and see how it is. First semester I was absolutely miserable and wanted to transfer so bad but I changed my attitude and outlook on college and that was the best thing I could have done for myself.  Living away from home has definitely helped me to become a more mature young lady, and to be more outgoing. I have always been the shy and quiet girl, but I had to learn to be outgoing so I could make friends. I have already met some people that I know will be my lifelong friends and I am so thankful for this experience!

Image may contain: indoor

This is just a picture of my side of my dorm room to show you guys! I’ve definitely hung up more pictures and stuff on my wall to make it a little more cozy!

Leave a Reply

