Roommate Experience

Senior year, a good friend of mine who I had known since kindergarten, texted me and told me Plymouth was her top school and she had just gotten accepted. I was psyched because I had just gotten accepted too and Plymouth was also my top school! Immediately, we brought up the roommate situation and agreed we would be living together. If it wasn’t for her, I would have roomed random. Over the summer, I brought her over my house and she met my family and my siblings, as well as all of my brothers friends who were over for a fire pit. Things were going really well until she started lying about silly things, and at the same time, my brothers best friend also started lying about similar things. At this point we were all a little curious as to what was going on with them. The two of them started hanging out behind all of our backs and denying they ever did and it was just a weird situation. But as time went on, they eventually started dating.

The first month or so went very well living with her. Keep in mind, her boyfriend was like a brother to me. I had known him for many years and I was as close with him as I was with my brother. My ex roommate and her boyfriend were in our room all the time and it did not bother me much until he started sleeping over every single night. He also attends Plymouth State. So when he started sleeping over every night I got irritated and wanted privacy so I said something to her about it and it caused a huge fight. From there, it just went downhill. We roomed together first semester and over break I tried to fix things with her but she wanted no part of it so 2 weeks into second semester, she unexpectedly called me while I was home for the weekend and told me she moved out. I was ecstatic to be completely honest. Her moving out was the best thing he could have done for the both of us. I may have lost a friend of many, many years, and a brother, but I am finally happy again.

When deciding on a roommate, there are many things to keep in mind. I wish I had actually taken into consideration things that would annoy me, or that I wouldn’t be able to deal with instead of just jumping right to the gun and living with her. I guess I did it because I felt more comfortable going into school with someone I knew from home, but I guess that is not always the case. Here is an article that talks more about what you need to think about when deciding on a roommate! enjoy! https://www.collegeraptor.com/blog/tips-and-tools/ultimate-guide-choosing-college-roommate/

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/fe/2e/de/fe2ede83da329f79ce41bdeeb059e5ce.jpg
Leave a Reply

