Picking Classes

 

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/K_AnUZpkPJU/maxresdefault.jpg

Picking classes was very stressful for me. As I mentioned in my last post, I chose my classes at orientation. My orientation date was one of the last ones so at that point there were not a lot of open seats left in the classes I wanted. I sat in front of the computer scrolling through every gen-ed and got more irritating each class because they were all full. Finally, a professor came over and helped me and the girl that was sitting next to me. She printed out a list with all of the classes that had seats that were open and we got to look through them all and find the ones we liked the best.

About an hour later, I finally had a full schedule; 5 classes. I was enrolled in, Intro to Childhood Studies, Human Development, a seminar, Citizen Politics, and Cultural Anthropology. I was very excited to take these classes! I am an Elementary Education major. I am not sure if I had mentioned that before, but I feel like that is necessary to say.

To be a full-time student you are required to take 5 classes. I was taking 4 regular classes, and 1 online one. I was not sure if I was going to like taking an online class but it ended up being great! It was nice to stay in comfy clothes and just do the work on my laptop, rather than having to walk across campus to class. I ended up liking it so much that this current semester, I am taking 2 online classes! Having online and regular classes is a good balance for me and I really like it. If anyone is iffy about taking an online class I suggest you give it a shot because you may end up loving it! The only downside is, making sure you set out the time to do it, and actually getting it done.

Being able to pick your own classes and set up your own schedule is one of the best parts about college. If you are a morning person, you can select early morning classes, or if you are like me, then you can select classes that are later in the day. This semester I set up my schedule so I do not have any classes on Fridays! It’s awesome! Just make sure you fulfill all of your requirements so you do not fall behind! Here is a link with some more tips on picking your college classes! https://bigfuture.collegeboard.org/find-colleges/academic-life/8-tips-for-choosing-college-classes

Leave a Reply

