Staying Fit

http://az616578.vo.msecnd.net/files/2016/09/15/6360950042739944242019098706_freshman_fifteen_by_iheartmanga-d31nse6.jpg

Everyone has heard of the famous “freshman fifteen!” No one wants to gain it, but it is hard not to! One of my biggest concerns for this year was gaining weight. At home I have always been good about working out and eating healthy, but I knew that would change at college. First semester was rough and I gained some weight because I was eating dining hall food, laying around eating snacks and watching Netflix, and not going to the gym at all.

At the end of first semester, right before winter break, I knew I had to make some changes. I made a workout schedule and came up with a list of healthy meals that would be easy to make/east in a dorm. I came back from break with tons of fruit, cases of water (absolutely no soda), yogurt, and a few other healthy things. I changed my whole diet. It is so easy to go to the dining hall and eat all of the unhealthy food because it looks so good, so I go to D hall maybe twice a week now. I’m not saying you have to stop going to D hall, but you have to be willing to go for the healthy stuff.

I started going to the gym a few times a week and this really made a difference. Burning off some extra calories will help you in the long run, I promise. If you don’t like going to the gym, there are plenty of classes that are offered and will give you a great workout! I go to Zumba twice a week and it is so much fun, it doesn’t even feel like a workout! I also started taking the stairs instead of the elevator. I live on the fifth floor so it is so easy to just hop on the elevator and save myself some energy. Even a small change like taking the stairs, will help you.

http://kidshealth.org/EN/images/headers/T-freshman15-enHD-AR1.jpg

It is not complicated to stay fit in college, but you have to be ready for a challenge some days! Overall, my most important tips for staying fit are:

  • know that it is possible
  • watch your alcohol intake
  • find the time
  • have fun with it

I am always open to helping people out! I wish everyone could have the right mindset about it and think about how good the change would be for themselves! Here is a link to a article going into more detail about staying in fit http://gofitu.com/stay-fit-in-college/

Leave a Reply

