What I Wish I Had Done Differently

http://az616578.vo.msecnd.net/files/2016/04/23/6359704420055156581373397000_Your-Name.png

Looking back at this year, there are multiple things I would have done differently. First off, I wouldn’t have roomed with someone I had known since kindergarten. I wish I had known we wouldn’t have gotten along instead of trying it out and now not having any communication at all. Rooming with a friend ruined a special friendship. It may work for some people but just take the time to think it out and set rules and boundaries for you two.

I would not have packed so many unnecessary things from home. Just like every freshman, I brought way more of everything than I need. I have stuff in my room that has not been touched since I moved in last August. Everyone always warns you not to over pack, but everyone does anyways. I didn’t realize there are stores around me, and I could go home and get something if I really needed it.

Another thing I wish I had done differently is going out more. I didn’t really put much effort into going out of my comfort zone and meeting new people. I am shy so I always would just hang out in my room by myself. Freshman year is the time when you make most of your friends and you start to find you “family.” I have a few close friends here, but nothing compared to some people. I wish I had gone out more and was more social and open with people.

The last thing I would have done differently would be to have gone to sporting events. This whole year I only went to one baseball game..I didn’t go to anything else. I either didn’t have time for it or I did not have any friends to go with. If I had made more friends then I would have had people to go with. Sporting events are such a fun environment. In high school, I never missed a game; no matter what sport it was.

Here is a link that talks more about things people wish they had done differently their freshman year! https://www.theodysseyonline.com/things-would-have-done-differently-freshman-year

Leave a Reply

